Who Won the 2017 G1 Climax Tournament?

And off to Tokyo we go. This morning, the 27th annual G1 Climax Tournament came to an end. It’s the biggest tournament in New Japan Pro Wrestling with the winner challenging for the IWGP World Title at the annual Wrestle Kingdom show on January 4. The finals are held between the winners of two round robin blocks held over the previous two and a half weeks. Now though, we know who is moving on to the biggest match of New Japan’s year.

This morning, Tetsuya Naito defeated Kenny Omega to win the tournament. The win makes Naito a two time winner of the tournament, which he also won in 2013. Omega was the defending champion of the tournament, having defeated Hirooki Goto to become the first non-Japanese wrestler to win under the G1 name.

Here are a few highlights of one of the last nights of the tournament in case you didn’t know what you were missing.

[This post contains video, click to play]

Opinion: I’m not the biggest New Japan fan in the world but I’ll be watching the show in January and this sounds like a heck of a match. Assuming Kazuchika Okada retains the title until then (and assuming the contract for the title shot doesn’t change hands in one of its defenses), this has the potential to be the match of the year again.

Do you like as the winner? Do you think he’ll win the title in January? Let us know in the comments below.

The post Who Won the 2017 G1 Climax Tournament? appeared first on WrestlingRumors.net.

Powered by WPeMatico